My wire caddy


For awhile now I’ve been buying just enough wire to do a tree or two. I finally gave in and decided to bite the bullet and empty my wallet to actually buy bonsai wire in bulk. I found through lots of research that Stone Lantern had the best prices online so I placed my order. Check out their website at  http://www.stonelantern.com  I bought several sizes of aluminum wire in kilos and several sizes of copper in 500 grams. Once I received my wire and had it laying there, I decided that I needed a way to organize it. I searched around and looked at different wire caddies that people had to offer. I got some ideas and decided that I had enough wood lying around and the appropriate saws that I would just make my own. 

I decided that I was more in need of something that was to be used more or less in my workshop that could hold a lot of wire at once. So my wire holder is a bit larger since I don’t really plan on using it as a portable caddy unless I need to. I will most likely build myself a smaller portable caddy in the near future. It is on the heavy side but is not actually that bad to lift. 

The measuring, cutting and drilling:

IMG_8590

IMG_8592

IMG_8586

IMG_8568

IMG_8569

IMG_8570

The assembly : 

IMG_8565

IMG_8574

IMG_8576

IMG_8578

IMG_8582

It does not feel good to drill your finger! OUCH!

IMG_8584

IMG_8583

I typically use the same various diameters so I thought it would be a nice touch to wood burn the sizes into the caddy. I also drilled guide holes for the wire to be pulled through. Plus I drilled holes and cut lengths of test wire so I can easily check what size I need 🙂

IMG_8599

IMG_8605

The finished product :

I tripled sanded and stained the wood a nice light cherry. Top bar is for copper wire and the bottom for aluminum. Plus there are other screw hangers/spaces for misc. wire such as stainless steel for guy wires and such.

IMG_8743

IMG_8744

IMG_8745

IMG_8746

The latches keep the bars in place. Open them up and the bars slide right out!

IMG_8747

 Finished wire holder and loaded with wire! There is also an open space inside to hold other tools/supplies. I am thinking about putting the wire rolls on wooden spools so they unwind better. I just have to find the right ones.

Well let me know what you all think 🙂 Thanks for reading as always!

2 thoughts on “My wire caddy”

  1. This is great! I had a plan but am now changing it! Adopting that latch-bar idea! Very clever!!! Also, I’ve got small hands & have to bring all my materials to my teachers often so, I’m going a little smaller. I didn’t see dimensions? Curious. . .
    Great job!!!

    1. Thanks for reading my post. My wire caddy is definitely a little big to be portable. I built it with the intention of it not really leaving my workshop. Thanks for your comment on the latch-bar design I did :). The basic measurements are 22.5 in high, 11 in wide and 22 inch long. If u would like more detailed measurements please let me know. Thanks again for your comment and reading my post 🙂

Leave a Reply

