Wire and wire tools

I figured since I did a post on the wire caddy I built, I should do a post on the wire and wire related items. Its kinda dumb to tell you about my wire caddy and not tell you what I put in it. DUH! 

First lets talk about the wire. I buy most of my wire online from Stone Lantern. Great prices and great service. Not much more to say. Some of the other wire I buy locally at different shops like and Lowes and Harbor Freight tools. Yes…… I said Lowes. The bulk darkened aluminum and the annealed copper I get from Stone Lantern comes from Robert Steven’s “Bonsai Aesthetics”. The only wire I get from Lowes is the very small 18 gauge (1.0mm) aluminum and copper. I use so little and its cheap enough to just buy locally. The stainless steel wire for guy wire is all I get from Harbor Freight Tools. Below are pics of each…….

Darkened Aluminum (Bonsai Aesthetics)

Obtained through Stone Lantern online. Very low-cost!

IMG_8841

Annealed copper (Bonsai Aesthetics : it is vacuum heated when annealed so it is not dark initially)

IMG_8840

Stainless Steel from Harbor Freight Tools: Used for tie downs and guy wire

IMG_8842

I also use a gold-colored aluminum wire. I use this as a quick temporary wire. That way I don’t waste my good quality bonsai wire plus with it being gold it stands out so I don’t forget to remove it. 

IMG_8845

Now that you know what wire I use lets take a look at the different wire tools I use as well.

 

Bonsai Wire Cutter (scissor style)

IMG_8629

Bonsai Wire cutter (flush cut style) : Made by Bonsai Aesthetics

IMG_8632

Standard wire cutter (helps with really thick wire) and a small cheap pair I use only for the thin wire to save on the usage of the better cutters.

IMG_8843

And yes I know raffia is not wire however it is used in conjunction with wire when bending and shaping branches to help keep them for breaking and splitting. 

IMG_8846

And when it’s all put together this is how it’s stored.

IMG_8747

2 thoughts on “Wire and wire tools”

  1. Great caddy! I don’t have a lot of wire to store because most of my trees have been trained clip and grow style, but I am going to be getting some more junipers to train and need to start getting wire together.

Leave a Reply

