2 New Display Stands

I decided to build 2 new display stands along my walkway up to my front door. I will use these stands to showcase typically 2 bonsai (1 bonsai per stand or more pending size). So whenever I have guests over or anyone just drops in, they will be greeted by 2 of my bonsai. They are placed in a very small garden section that have some dwarf Alberta Spruce and small various color azaleas. Once the area is re-mulched this spring and the azalea or in bloom it will be a nice little area.

I had some 4×4 lumber sitting around that I could use. So next came the digging……

IMG_8877

IMG_8878

I bought 2 TREX post cover slips to slide over them and give them some class. TREX is a composite decking material that won’t splinter, fade or breakdown with weather. 

IMG_8880

IMG_8881

Big difference between just the plain wood and covered with the TREX!

IMG_8882

Then I bought a grooved piece of decking the was 36″ and cut it in half giving me 2 display tops that will be 18″ long. Staining the grooved wood.

IMG_8879

Attaching the tops to the stand posts and completing the 2 stands.

IMG_8954

IMG_8956

The grooves will allow all excess water to drain out.

IMG_8955

The stands with 2 bonsai on them temporarily to show how they will look. I need to get some straps to secure them to the post until I can leave them on display for a longer period of time. 

IMG_8957

IMG_8958

A San Jose Juniper on the stand.

IMG_8960

2 bonsai on display. San Jose Juniper and a Sharps Pygmy Japanese Maple

IMG_8959

Sharps Pygmy Japanese Maple

The stands are about 45 inches from the ground. I stand at about 5’7.5″ and this places the apex of a tree that’s about 15 inches high (soil level up) just at eye level. I wanted them to be a little higher than normal being that they are the main focus points of the space but they are still not overly high and can be viewed nicely by almost anyone. Thanks for reading.

6 thoughts on “2 New Display Stands”

Leave a Reply

