Recently purchased San Jose Juniper

I recently purchased this San Jose Juniper from my local bonsai nursery. The nursery is “Natures Way Bonsai Nursery” and is located just outside Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. I will be doing a post on the nursery in the future. The bonsai came in the pot shown and was pretty much completely wired so there was hardly anything to do with it. I just liked its potential, the price was very good and required minimal amount of effort ;). I slightly adjusted some of the branches but that’s about it. It’s starting to push new growth which is a good sign. It’s a little thin in some areas so my goal with this tree is to create fuller pads over time. Other than that, just regular maintenance and I should have a nice bonsai in a few short years.

SONY DSC

Front view

SONY DSC

left side view

SONY DSC

downward look at the jin

IMG_9242

close-up of the main large jin

IMG_9244

close-up of the jin in the front and the shari

And its pushing new growth which means its healthy. I bought the tree over the winter, I believe in the beginning of February, so seeing signs of life and growth is a relief that my money was well spent 🙂

IMG_9423

IMG_9424

IMG_8958

This was the pic I used in my bonsai display stand post. Looks good on display there.

Thanks again for viewing and please feel free to follow this blog if you have not already signed up! 

Leave a Reply

