Possible future bonsai enthusiast?

For Earth Day this week my youngest daughter (8 yrs old) obtained a white spruce seedling from school. And let me tell you she was excited to bring it home and show her dad! She also has joined the garden club at school and has always been excited to help me with my trees and the veggie garden. Who knows…… maybe she will become a great bonsai artist? She jumped at the second I asked if she wanted to place it in a pot so I used this as a small teaching session for her as well. Here are some pics of her excited too pot her tree and then watering it. 

IMG_9433

Placing a small layer of lava rock at bottom for drainage.

IMG_9435

The little White Spruce seedling.

IMG_9436

Placing some soil in pot and ready to place seedling in. Seedling is nice and green and has long roots so it should be good and healthy.

IMG_9438

Centering tree.

IMG_9441

Adding soil around tree.

IMG_9443

IMG_9445

Making sure its nice and level on the surface.

IMG_9446

IMG_9447

IMG_9448

IMG_9449

IMG_9450

IMG_9451

Proud little girl and her first tree planting 🙂

IMG_9453

While I was getting water for the tree my oldest and youngest daughter thought they would be goofy for the camera. Now they are here for everyone to see! Don’t mess with dad’s camera! 😉 LOL 

IMG_9455

Watering the newly planted tree.

IMG_9456

IMG_9457

Its times like this that get to your heart as a dad. I’m just glad that 1 of my 3 daughters shares my interest of bonsai and has a “green thumb” like me. And beyond the quality time spent with my little one, its great to get young children involved in bonsai. Someday down the road it will be up to my daughters generation to carry on the bonsai tradition and pass the knowledge. We can’t just let it end with your or my generation. 

4 thoughts on “Possible future bonsai enthusiast?”

  1. That is so great! Even if she decides that she no longer likes gardening when she gets older, that little tree will be your most precious. When I was in the first grade they gave me a pine just like this one and now it is over 20 feet tall! Even after my dad ran it over with the lawn mower.

Leave a Reply

