MidAtlantic Bonsai Symposium 2013

This past weekend I attended for the first time the MidAtlantic Bonsai Symposium which is held in Grantville, Pa which is near Hershey and Harrisburg. Website for the event if interested : http://www.midatlanticbonsai.freeservers.com. The show has been around for years but I never attended for some reason or another. The show is hosted by the MidAtlantic Bonsai Society (MABS) and is a great event. Every year they have well-known bonsai artist from around the world attend the event and for a fee they offer training/lectures/demos all day Friday, Saturday and Sunday. I did not attend any of those, I went this year to see the bonsai exhibits and the sales area. This year they had the following artists at the event: Peter Warren (UK), Ryan Neil (USA) and Minoru Akiyama (JAPAN). I also seen Owen Reich(bonsai apprentice at Fujikawa bonsai : kouka-ten nursery) and Dave Easterbrook (Canada) there as well. The event I guess you could say was split into 4 areas: lecture/demo areas, the MABS members Bonsai Exhibit, Professional Bonsai Exhibit and the sales/vendor area. It was a modest $10 entrance fee for the 2 exhibit areas and the sales areas. Oh I forgot… at the entrance they had a nice small display of ikebana from one of the Pennsylvania chapters of  Sogetsu Ikebana School. I took pics from each area and will try to post as many as I can.  Because I took so many pics I will have to divide the posts into sections and do several post over a period of time to cover as much as possible.

Lets start with the nice tokonoma and ikebana display

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

And then the sales area

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

yamadori (nature collected)

SONY DSC

I have never seen a weeping forsythia bonsai in my life! I was afraid to look at the price tag so I didn’t. LOL

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

IMG_9381

Panoramic view of the sales area with my wife and youngest daughter (purple shirt tied around waist) in the foreground 

Well with all the yapping I did in this post I will stop here for now. The next few post will have all the bonsai pics (a lot fewer words) so you will just have to wait a little longer. But trust me, the trees are worth checking back to my blog for. You wont be disappointed!

If this is your first or 100th time here and you’re not a follower yet please sign up. This helps me keep track of things 🙂

Leave a Reply

