Dwarf Canadian Hemlock

I bought this dwarf hemlock last year at season’s end for about $3.00. I bought it at the same time as several other trees I have posted about. I liked the way the tree was compact and the small green needles. I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it style wise so i first figured I would clean it up a little and go from there.

IMG_8170

This is the tree as it was bought from the nursery. As you can see it has small compact needles and a decent trunk structure for its size. It’s roughly 12-13 inches high at the moment

IMG_8373

Cleaned up and some of the un-needed growth removed. Temporary wire just for visual reference of possible future design.The temporary wire is so easy to use and extremely inexpensive I don’t mind using it to help me visualize the tree. It’s not done on all my trees. I know it’s not a standard practice but then nothing about me is 😉

IMG_9396

In the re-potting tub and ready to get out of the bad nursery soil and pot.

IMG_9398

Lots of buds swelling so it’s a perfect indicator that its time to do any re-potting.

IMG_9399

Root mass out of he nursery pot. This tree does not have much for surface roots (nebari) but we can work on that as time passes. 

IMG_9400

Roots raked out and ready for a trim.

IMG_9401

Roots trimmed up and shaped for a good fit in its temporary training pot.

IMG_9402

Training pot and some much better soil. I swear that when you re-pot a tree into better soil and training pot you can actually hear the tree sigh in relief for the freshness you have supplied for it. LOL 

IMG_9564

Shortly after the re-pot the new buds are breaking open. Good sign that I didn’t kill it. Now its time for me to sigh in relief that its doing well 🙂

IMG_9565

Close-up of new buds breaking. A lovely bright fresh green.

IMG_9847

And a little more time passes and the tree is loaded with fresh growth.

IMG_9848

Close-up of the new growth. 

After this growing season I will clean back anymore un-needed growth and give this little guy its official quality wiring. I think that with the addition of the new growth, the already compact style of the branches that I should be able to create some very nice pads right from the start. A few years down the road and getting the trunks and such to thicken this should be a good twin trunk bonsai. That is if I don’t mess it up between now and then which is possible 😉 LOL

3 thoughts on “Dwarf Canadian Hemlock”

Leave a Reply

