Remember the future bonsai enthusiasts?

After my youngest daughter and I planted her seedling she got from Earth Day she asked me to teach her a little more about bonsai. So while she was at school the other day I took a trip to my local bonsai nursery to see if I could find a starter tree for her. A co-worker had also asked me to purchase him his first indoor (tropical) bonsai so I was able to kill 2 birds with one stone. There will be a brief post on that later on. I happened to find her a small shimpaku juniper that I thought would be perfect. Small cute tree for a small cute girl 🙂  We talked about the design, we did some pruning, wiring and re-potting of the little tree. I think the overall outcome of it for her first time ever doing bonsai was great! She did most of the work while really the only thing I did was help wire and bend some of the tougher parts.

IMG_9865

Here is the little starter shimpaku juniper.

SONY DSC

My daughter Mayah and I discussing the design of the bonsai.

SONY DSC

Here she is pruning away some of the unwanted growth and giving some shape to the tree.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Showing her how to wire. We used aluminum wire on this tree since it would be much easier for her to handle.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

She is telling me her vision of how she wants the bonsai to look 🙂

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

IMG_9866

This is how she wanted it to look. Not too bad for her first bonsai!

IMG_9867

Out of the training pot and ready for a new bonsai pot. 

IMG_9868

Roots raked out but not pruned. 

IMG_8459

This is the little pot she picked out. 

SONY DSC

Positioning in pot and securing in place. 

SONY DSC

Adding bonsai soil.

SONY DSC

Teaching her how to use a bamboo stick to get soil into all crevices of the roots. 

IMG_9889

Here is a close-up of the little shimpaku juniper.

SONY DSC

First watering of her bonsai in its new pot!

SONY DSC

Proud little girl of her very own and first attempt at bonsai. Times like these makes a dad’s heart grow fonder 🙂

Thanks again for reading and please click on the “follow me” link if you are not already a follower.

One thought on “Remember the future bonsai enthusiasts?”

Leave a Reply

