Aralia Elegantissima Forest Planting (False Aralia)

Sorry for the long gap between posts but I have been extremely busy and a lot of that time has been spent working on bonsai or bonsai related. The good news is that I have taken hundreds of photos and still have many more to take so the post will start flowing on a regular basis. Or at least as fast as I can upload, type and publish đŸ™‚ .

Aralia Elegantissima (also False aralia) is a tropical house plant. Even though the plants can never really be a single bonsai, I think they look the part when done in a forest landscape. They typically get long straight multi trunks, they have a thin bark structure and have long serrated leaves. I find the plants to be cool looking. The series of photos shows the last several years worth of dealing with these plants. This will be year number 3 and I recently recreated the forest scene.

SONY DSC

Here are the aralia just after purchasing them for my local nursery. I repotted them in these standard planters for the first growing season.

SONY DSC

Close-up

j 631

The following late winter I attempted my first ever forest landscape on a slab. Not all that bad for a beginner.

IMG_4773

Then as you can see I decided to change-up the layout and replace/relocate the moss in early summer.

IMG_4774

Close-up

I then decided again this spring that I would redo the design again but this time add some extras and do it a little differently. The following pics are of the work I just did on the forest landscape and how it is currently.

IMG_8832

Removed the 3 plants and cleaned he slab and pruned up the roots. I had to use a good sharp knife because all the roots grew into one big root mass.

IMG_8834

Close-up

IMG_9120

I made a bonsai muck out of peat, fine clay particles (from sifting of standard bonsai soil)and a very small amount of saw dust. Mixed all with water until it was a dough consistency. I replanted at slightly different angles and added 2 new low ferns.

IMG_9122

Close-up

IMG_9124

This is a moss collection I obtained from the rock wall out in my driveway. There are 3 different types of moss.

The next 14 pics just show me in action (thanks to my oldest daughter) meticulously placing different chunks of moss throughout the landscape…

IMG_9126

IMG_9128

IMG_9132

IMG_9135

IMG_9138

IMG_9140

IMG_9142

Must have lost my mind for a second! ;0 And yes…….. my shirt says “Fart Ninja (silent but deadly)” LOL. I love this shirt!

IMG_9145

IMG_9148

IMG_9152

IMG_9156

IMG_9160

IMG_9161

IMG_9166

That was a lot of work placing all that moss!

The next series is the final product. All the moss placed, the plants thinned out and shortened and the little mudmen are relaxing in their new home.

IMG_9172

IMG_9174

IMG_9176

Close-up of exposed roots

IMG_9178

IMG_9180

IMG_9183

IMG_9187

IMG_9190

IMG_9192

Hopefully you have enjoyed this post! I will get hard to work and get more post flowing as I said at the beginning of this post.

If you want, don’t be afraid to click on the “follow me” button. Either follow as a wordpress user or by entering your email đŸ™‚

Thanks Again!

4 thoughts on “Aralia Elegantissima Forest Planting (False Aralia)”

    1. I don’t think they would work individually but I think they work well as a forest grouping. I like thinking outside the box :). Thanks for your comment and reading my blog!

Leave a comment